h1

Textbook Underworld and the stalking girl

September 29, 2008

I saved some 30 dollars by buying my Chem book from a girl who was standing in the bookstore for 40 minutes attempting to sell her book to bystanders.  For some reason she decided not to bring the book with her, but left it in her car in the parking lot.  As we walked to go look at the book she must have said, “It is just a little further this way” with a motion of her hand at least 4 times.  I felt like I was going to look at contraband weapons or a bearded woman, but then decided she was nervous for her blatant entrepreneurialism.

So we get there I look at the book and deem it is sufficient.  We are standing in a dimly lit parking structure’s basement.  Also I refuse to take off my sunglasses. I count out the twenties to reach 100, then reach for my pocket for two loose 5’s, then grab another 20.  “There’s 130.”  Her eyes had followed the waves of the bills the entire time, like two beetles crawling side by side on a single path.  “130” she says.

Business is done, I feel clever and she feels like she had a poker windfall.

Haiku:

Textbook Underworld,
Shrewd girl, highlighting too much,
You wrote in the book!

2 comments

  1. […] of the more tactile media: A journey into the seedy textbook underworld. [Philosophiae […]


  2. Was she asian?



Leave a comment